Why the tribunal fired Adeleke as Osun governor

 When the Osun Election Petitions Tribunal removed Governor Ademola

Adeleke from office on Friday, the Osun State government came to a painful halt. He was only in office for 62 days. 

The tribunal determined that the Independent National Electoral Commission had violated both the provisions of the Electoral Act as amended and the Federal Republic of Nigeria's Constitution when it invalidated the results of the Osun governorship election on July 16. 

The ONIKEWIDE announces The Peoples Democratic Party's nominee for governor, Adeleke, was proclaimed the victor of the July 16 election by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

Prof. Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, the University of Lagos' Vice-Chancellor and the election's returning officer, declared that Adeleke had received a total of 403,371 votes, defeating APC's Adegboyega Oyetola, the current governor, who had received 375,027 votes in the hotly contested race. 

The PDP won 17 of Osun's 30 local government areas (LGAs) in the 3,763 voting units that made up the election, while the APC received more votes in the other 13 LGAs. Atakumosa West, Olorunda, Ilesa West, Obokun, Oriade, Orolu, Ife North, Irepodun, and Ejigbo LGAs were won by the PDP in addition to Ede North and Ede South.

Ayedire, Ifedayo, Ife Central, Ayedaade, Iwo, Olaoluwa, Isokan, Atakumosa East, Irewole, Ife South, and Ife East LGAs were won by the APC, in contrast. A total of 1,479,595 Permanent Voter Cards were gathered before to the election out of the 1,955,657 registered voters in the state. 

Adeleke, who is famed for his dancing prowess and is affectionately known as the "Dancing Senator," had reason to hope, but that dream was destroyed on Friday when the tribunal invalidated the outcome of the governorship election held on July 16. 

Justice Tetsea Kume concluded that INEC did not significantly abide by the rules of the Electoral Act and the constitution while issuing a majority decision vote.

He then subtracted the observed overvoting from the votes received by the candidates, declaring Oyetola the victor with a total of 314, 921 votes to Adeleke's 290, 266. 

Having secured the majority of the valid votes, he instructed INEC to revoke Adeleke's certificate of return and issue a new one to Oyetola.


Popular posts from this blog